Bregenz, the regional capital of the Voralberg, is famed for its annual festival. But its renowned floating stage is just one of its attractions.

Neighbouring town Bregenz

Many tourists have still not discovered its upper town, which was built by the Counts of Montfort in the 13th century and expanded three hundred years later. The imposing Martinsturm tower was built on the foundations of a former medieval castle in 1599 and is a symbol of the city. Other impressive buildings include the 17th-century Deuring Castle, the Cistercian Monastery and the Parish Church of St Gallus. The upper town also has another strange claim to fame: if you walk along Kirchstrasse you will come upon the narrowest house in Europe! The facade of this 200-year-old building is only 57 centimetres wide.

Old Town Bregenz

The steep Stadtsteig path links the medieval old town with the hustle and bustle of modern life below – once you pass through the city gate you are back in the lower town.  Here, there is something for shopaholics and culture vultures alike. The city art gallery displays works by contemporary artists while the Vorarlberg Museum provides fascinating insights into the history of the Vorarlberg region. The Theater am Kornplatz, housed in the old Corn Exchange, puts on many highly-respected performances and is also of great architectural interest.

Only a few minutes’ walk and you will find yourself back at the lake on the city’s wide lakeside promenade.  This is where people go to see and be seen, especially in the summer months when guests are dressed to the nines as they head towards the Festival and Congress Hall. The unique atmosphere on the world’s biggest floating stage also attracts around 200,000 visitors every year.

Getting from Lindau to Bregenz

During the holiday season, the fastest and easiest way to get to Bregenz is by train or by bike. From April to mid-October there is also a scheduled boat service from Lindau to the harbour at the foot of the Pfänder. If you take one of the White Fleet boats you can also enjoy a unique view of the three countries that border the lake. From the harbour it’s only a few minutes’ walk to the centre of Bregenz.

Tip: if you decide to travel by train, buy your ticket at the ÖBB counter in Lindau’s station, as it’s cheaper than buying it from Deutsche Bahn.

Bregenz


A-6900 Bregenz

Telefon +43 5574 49590

Fax +43 5574 495959

Webseite www.bregenz.at


Email tourismus@bregenz.at

Karte

Ein Ausflug nach Bregenz lohnt sich nicht nur während der Festspielzeit: Die vorarlbergerische Landeshauptstadt hat weitaus mehr zu bieten als ihre weltberühmte Seebühne.

Österreichische Nachbarstadt Bregenz

Von vielen Touristen unentdeckt bleibt beispielsweise die im 13. Jahrhundert unter den Grafen von Montfort errichtete Oberstadt, die drei Jahrhunderte später erweitert wurde. Der imposante Martinsturm, der ab 1599 auf den Grundmauern einer mittelalterlichen Burg erbaut wurde, gilt heute als Wahrzeichen der Stadt. Auch das Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts erbaute Deuringschlösschen, das Kapuzinerkloster und die Stadtpfarrkirche St. Gallus sind bis heute erhalten und sehr sehenswert. Zudem findet sich in der Oberstadt ein echtes Kuriosum: In der Kirchstraße steht das schmalste Haus Europas: Die Fassade des über 200 Jahre alten Bauwerks ist nur 57 Zentimeter breit.

Altstadt Bregenz

Der steile Stadtsteig verbindet die mittelalterliche Altstadt mit dem pulsierenden Leben von Heute – hinter dem Stadttor beginnt die Bregenzer Unterstadt. Hier kommen Shoppingbegeisterte ebenso wie Kulturfreunde auf ihre Kosten. Neben dem Kunsthaus, das zeitgenössische Werke ausstellt, bietet das Landesmuseum von Vorarlberg interessante Einblicke in die Geschichte Vorarlbergs. Das Theater am Kornplatz, beheimatet in einem alten Getreidespeicher, zeigt immer wieder vielbeachtete Aufführungen und ist auch architektonisch interessant.

Nur wenige Gehminuten entfernt lockt er dann wieder – der Bodensee, der in Bregenz durch eine großzügige Uferpromenade begrenzt ist. Hier wird tatsächlich flaniert: Sehen und gesehen werden lautet die Devise vor allem in den Sommermonaten, wenn allabendlich festlich gekleidete Gäste zum Festspiel- und Kongresshaus strömen. Das einzigartige Ambiente auf der größten Seebühne der Welt zieht jährlich rund 200.000 Besucher an.

Von Lindau nach Bregenz

Während der Saison kommen Sie am schnellsten und einfachsten per Bahn oder Fahrrad nach Bregenz. Auch die Kursschiffe fahren in der Zeit von April bis Mitte Oktober 2015 den Hafen am Fuße des Pfänders an: An Bord der Weißen Flotte können Sie bei der Überfahrt die einmalige Aussicht auf den See und seine drei angrenzenden Länder genießen. Vom Hafen sind es nur wenige Gehminuten bis ins Zentrum.

Tipp: Falls Sie mit der Bahn fahren, lösen Sie Ihr Ticket am Lindauer Bahnhof am Kartenschalter der ÖBB. Dort ist es billiger als bei der DB.

Bregenz


A-6900 Bregenz

Telefon +43 5574 49590

Fax +43 5574 495959

Webseite www.bregenz.at


Email tourismus@bregenz.at

Karte