Airship flying over Langenargen | Photo: Michael Häfner You always thought that airships are something that you can only see in old movies? No, they’re not! Thanks to the German airship company, Deutsche Zeppelin-Reederei, the silent giants fly across Lake Constance all year round, and ensure that our visitors can enjoy fantastic views of Friedrichshafen, the Salem Monastery and Palace, Mainau island and, of course, Lindau.

Zeppelin NT in Friedrichshafen

Friedrichshafen, which is around half an hour away from Lindau by car or train, is not only home to the important zeppelin museum but also the “home port” of Deutsche Zeppelin-Reederei, the German airship company: Airships have been developed here since the late 1980s; the company started to offer round flights all over Lake Constance with its airship Zeppelin NT in 1997.

The NT in the name of this state-of-the-art flying machine stands for “new technology” – and that’s also what’s inside the zeppelins; the high-tech airships that fly across Lake Constance and weigh only 1,100 kilos have nothing in common with the 1940s models, which were basically just a better class of hot air balloon. As they are fuelled by inflammable helium and equipped with a particularly durable outer shell, you don’t have to worry about your safety on board.

Where does the Lake Constance airship fly to?

The Lake Constance airship always starts and lands at Friedrichshafen, which is also the starting point for round trips all over Lake Constance. A flight takes between 30 and 120 minutes, depending on your chosen destination. The 30-minute version is just a short flight along the coast of Friedrichshafen itself, but even this already offers breathtaking views of Lake Constance and the nearby Alps.

A 45-minute round flight will take you all the way to the beautiful island of Lindau, and also offers you the chance of some aerial views of the old city centre of the island of Lindau in Lake Constance. If you treat yourself to a 90-minute flight, you can view the entire neighbouring Allgäu region from above – and if you invest a whole two hours, you can fly once across Lake Constance in its entirety.

You will enjoy breathtaking views which neither a plane nor a helicopter can offer you in this form, thanks to panoramic windows and the airship’s comfortable flight speed. However, due to the not inconsiderable fares, such a trip is probably not a suitable everyday excursion – although it may be just the right thing as a special treat to celebrate your wedding anniversary!

Flights cost between €200 and €795 per person. Children aged between two and twelve fly at a 20 per cent discount. The interesting tours of the dockyard, where you can also learn more about the technical details of the airships, are rather more affordable – they cost between €5 and €9.50.


Airship Flights
Mondays – Sundays: all day long
Please refer to the flight schedule for exact flight times.

Fares: €220 – €795 per person (varies according length of flight/chosen route)
See Zepppelin NT website for current flight schedule

Airship dockyard tours March – November
Tuesdays, Fridays: 16:00 – 16:45
Must be booked by 14:00
Admission: 9.50 euros

Zeppelin über Langenargen | Foto: Michael HäfnerLuftschiffe gibt’s nur in alten Filmen, glauben Sie? Nein! Dank der Deutschen Zeppelin-Reederei fliegen die leisen Riesen bei uns das ganze Jahr über den Bodensee und bieten unseren Besuchern fantastische Aussichten auf Friedrichshafen, Schloss Salem, die Insel Mainau und natürlich: Lindau.

Zeppelin NT in Friedrichshafen

Im nur knapp einer halben Stunde Bahn- oder Autofahrt von Lindau am Bodensee entfernten Friedrichshafen liegt nicht nur das bedeutende Zeppelin-Museum, sondern auch der Hafen der Deutschen Zeppelin-Reederei: Hier werden seit Ende der 80er Zeppeline entwickelt und seit 1997 Rundflüge über den gesamten Bodensee mit dem Zeppelin NT angeboten.

Das NT im Namen der hochmodernen Flugmaschine steht für Neue Technologie – und die steckt auch im Zeppelin; mit den besseren Heißluftballons der 1940er-Jahre haben die nur 1.100 Kilo leichten High-Tech-Schiffe über dem Bodensee nichts mehr zu tun. Weil die mit unbrennbarem Helium fliegen und eine besonders strapazierfähige Außenhülle besitzen, brauchen Sie sich um die Sicherheit an Bord keinerlei Gedanken machen.

Wohin fliegt der Bodensee-Zeppelin?

Mit dem Bodensee-Zeppelin starten und landen Sie stets in Friedrichshafen und brechen auf zu Rundflügen um den ganzen Bodensee. Die Flugdauer beträgt zwischen 30 und 120 Minuten, je nachdem, welches Ziel Sie ansteuern möchten. Bei der 30 Minuten-Variante geht’s nur kurz um die Küste von Friedrichshafen selbst, aber schon das bietet atemberaubende Panoramen rund um den Bodensee und die nahen Alpen.

Bei einem 45-Minuten-Rundflug erreichen Sie das wunderschöne Lindauer Insel, bei dem Sie auch unsere Altstadt auf der Insel Lindau im Bodensee aus der Luft betrachten können. Wer sich 90 Minuten Rundflug gönnt, sieht das gesamte angrenzende Allgäu von oben – und wer zwei Stunden Zeit mitbringt, der überfliegt einmal den kompletten Bodensee.

Hier erwartet sie ein atemberaubender Anblick, den Ihnen in der Form weder ein Flugzeug noch ein Hubschrauber bieten kann. Dafür sorgen die Panoramafenster und die angenehme Fluggeschwindigkeit des Zeppelins. Durch die etwas hohen Preise ist so ein Ausflug wahrscheinlich nichts für den Alltag – aber als besonderes Geschenk zum Hochzeitstag vielleicht genau das richtige.

Die Flüge kosten zwischen 200 und 795 € pro Person. Kinder von 2 bis 12 sparen 20 Prozent. Deutlich günstiger sind da die interessanten Werftbesichtigungen, bei denen Sie sich die technischen Feinheiten des Zeppelins erklären lassen können – sie kosten zwischen 5,00 und 9,50 €.

Deutsche Zeppelin-Reederei GmbH

Messestrasse 132
88046 Friedrichshafen

Telefon +49 7541 59000

Webseite www.zeppelinflug.de


Email info@zeppelin-nt.de

Zeppelinflüge
Montag – Sonntag: ganztätgig
genauen Flugzeiten variieren je nach Flugplan.

Preise: 220 € – 795 € pro Person (abhängig von Flugdauer/Flugstrecke)
aktueller Flugplan auf der Webseite der Zeppelin NT

Werftbesichtigung von März – November
Dienstag und Freitag: 16:00 – 16:45 Uhr
Anmeldung bis 14:00 Uhr
Preis: 9,50 Euro

Karte