Have you ever experienced monkeys out in nature? No? Then what are you waiting for? Pack up your children and head over to the Affenberg Salem, near Lindau on Lake Constance. Between March and October, we invite you to take a stroll through our large woodland area, enjoying the fresh air of Lake Constance and watching our Barbary macaques frolicking amongst the trees. You can even take a bag of our specially produced popcorn with you to feed the cute little monkeys. This will allow you a close-up experience of these small, furry animals. Partitions or ditches? Not here. And should our furry friends happen not to respond immediately to your offerings, you can snack on the free, delicious popcorn yourself.

Come and see baby macaques in spring

May is the most impressive time to visit the Affenberg: this is when the first baby macaques are born. We invite you to join us for the unique experience of seeing the parents holding their lively new borns tightly, whilst these innocently suck on their little fingers and watching the world go by.

Where do the macaques come from?

Because these endearing creatures, hailing from the mountainous regions of Morocco and Algeria, are greatly endangered, our group here at the Affenberg Salem is regarded as a valuable reserve. The way in which we keep the macaques here nevertheless allows them a natural way of life, safe from harm.  And this gives both you and over 200 happy Barbary macaques the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful natural setting. There is a great deal to learn: during the feeding sessions, which take place almost every hour, our workers always have a lot to report about their protégés. However, we close the park during the winter to ensure that the macaques have time to themselves, as winter time is mating time.

And should there be too much monkeying around…

…we also have many other animals here at the Affenberg Salem. Amongst others, our park is home to a free-flying nesting colony of white storks. Why not get closer to these birds during feeding times on the storks’ meadow. A live video feed during breeding season also gives you an insight into the storks’ nursery. Swans, grey geese, mallards, coots, great crested grebes and many other animals can be seen on and by the crystal clear, tranquil waters of our mere. Should you be after something slightly larger, then pay our fallow deer herd a visit, comprised of a host of does, their young, and a fallow deer stag called Emil.

Adventures and relaxation await at the Affenberg Salem

Here at the Affenberg Salem, we have something to keep everyone entertained, young and old, big and small. For the little ones, we offer a varied adventure playground with a jungle gym, slide, sandpit, swings and a balancing course. This is the best place for your children to run off a bit of energy after feeding the macaques. Of course, parents also need a break from time to time: take a seat in our comfy bar with a freshly brewed cup of coffee. From here, you can keep an eye on the kids and enjoy a few minutes of peace and quiet. Relax under the chestnuts in the bar garden with a delicious selection of food and drink, coffee and cake. In summer, we offer a dessert of ice cream to help you cool off before you head back through the macaque enclosure with a handful of popcorn.

Affenberg Salem

Mendlishauser Hof
88682 Salem

Telefon +49 7553 381

Fax +49 7553 6454

Webseite www.affenberg-salem.de


Email info@affenberg-salem.de

18th March – 28th October 2017
Monday – Sunday: 09:00 am – 06:00 pm

29th October – 5th November 2017
Monday – Sunday: 09:00 am – 05:00 pm

last entry 1/2 hour before closing time
also open on Sundays and bank holidays

Karte

Sind Sie schon einmal Affen im Freien begegnet? Nein? Dann verlieren Sie keine Zeit, packen Sie die Kinder ein und machen Sie sich auf zum Affenberg Salem, nicht weit von Lindau am Bodensee entfernt. Zwischen März und Oktober können Sie dort bei frischer Bodenseeluft durch ein großes Waldstück mit herumtollenden Berberaffen spazieren. Mit einer Tüte des speziell hergestellten Popcorns dürfen Sie die niedlichen Äffchen sogar füttern. So lernen Sie die kleinen, pelzigen Tiere hautnah kennen. Trenngitter oder Gräben? Gibt es hier nicht. Und falls die Äffchen mal nicht sofort kommen, naschen Sie einfach selbst von dem kostenlosen und leckeren Popcorn.

Affenbabys beobachten im Frühjahr

Die eindrucksvollste Zeit auf dem Affenberg ist der Mai: Ab dann kommen nämlich die Babys der Affen zur Welt. Es ist einzigartig, dabei zuzusehen, wie die Affenmamas und Affenpapas ihre quirligen Neugeborenen fest an ihre Körper drücken, während diese unschuldig an ihren kleinen Fingern nuckeln und den Wegesrand beobachten.

Woher kommen die Affen eigentlich?

Weil die liebenswerten Affen stark gefährdet sind, gelten die ursprünglich in den Gebirgsregionen von Marokko und Algerien heimischen Bewohner des Affenbergs Salem als wertvoller Reservebestand. Die Haltung am Affenberg ermöglicht den Tieren aber dennoch ein naturgemäßes Leben fernab von Bedrohung.  Und Sie haben dadurch die Chance, zusammen mit über 200 glücklichen Berberaffen die Natur zu genießen. Zu Lernen gibt es dabei viel: Die Mitarbeiter berichten bei fast stündlich stattfindenden Fütterungen eine ganze Menge über ihre kleinen Schützlinge. Den Winter aber haben die Affen ganz für sich, dann ist Paarungszeit und der Park geschlossen.

Wenn’s mal zu affig wird…

…gibt es noch viele weitere Tiere, die auf dem Affenberg Salem leben. Unter anderem haust hier auch eine frei fliegende Brutkolonie Weißstörche. Bei Fütterungen auf der Storchenwiese können Sie auch diese Tiere aus der Nähe beobachten. Eine Live-Videoübertragung zur Brutsaison gewährt außerdem einen Einblick in die Kinderstube. Am ruhigen Weiher gibt es zudem Schwäne, Graugänse, Stockenten, Blässhühner, Haubentaucher und noch viele andere Tiere zu sehen, die immer wieder zu dem glasklaren Stillgewässer zurückkehren. Auf der Damwild-Anlage des Affenbergs leben hingegen eine Schar Hirschkühe und Jungtiere mit einem Damhirsch namens Emil zusammen.

Abenteuer und Entspannung auf dem Affenberg Salem

Auf dem Affenberg Salem werden alle Besucher, jung und alt, groß und klein, gut unterhalten. Für die Kleinen gibt es auch einen abwechslungsreichen Abenteuerspielplatz mit Kletterturm, Rutsche, Sandkiste, Schaukeln und Balancierparcours. Wenn die Kinder nach dem Affenfüttern ein wenig toben möchten, sind sie hier bestens aufgehoben. Natürlich brauchen auch die Eltern mal eine Pause: Setzen Sie sich einfach mit einer frisch gebrühten Tasse Kaffee in die gemütliche Schenke. Von dort aus haben Sie den Nachwuchs bestens im Blick und können ein paar Minuten Ruhe genießen. Unter Kastanienbäumen im Garten der Schenke entspannen Sie bei leckeren Speisen und Getränken, Kaffee und Kuchen. Zum Nachtisch gibt’s im Sommer ein kühles Eis, bevor es mit einer Hand voll Popcorn auf den Rückweg durchs Affengehege geht.

Affenberg Salem

Mendlishauser Hof
88682 Salem

Telefon +49 7553 381

Fax +49 7553 6454

Webseite www.affenberg-salem.de


Email info@affenberg-salem.de

18. März – 28. Oktober 2017
Montag – Sonntag: 9:00 – 18:00 Uhr

29. Oktober – 05. November 2017
Montag – Sonntag: 9:00 – 17:00 Uhr

letzter Einlass 1/2 Stunde vor Schließung
auch an allen Sonn- und Feiertagen geöffnet

9,00 € Erwachsene
6,00 € Kinder 6 – 15 Jahre
25,00 € Familienkarte (Eltern mit eigenen Kinder von 6 – 15 Jahren)

Kinder unter 6 Jahren sind kostenlos

35,00 € Saisonkarte Kinder 6 – 15 Jahre
50,00 € Saisonkarte Erwachsene

Karte